Introducing….

I would like to introduce you to three ladies who are getting makeovers over the next 10 weeks.
 
This is Hilda.
 
 
She was last upholstered in 1971, in this crushed red velvet. She has a lovely shape. She cost $25 at the DI and while the crushed red velvet really isn’t that bad, it is dirty. She is getting her makeover (aka reupholstery class) done by me. Michelle, Staci and I are all taking the upholstery class. Here’s another pic of Hilda and I, as well as the tag I found insider of her, showing who upholstered her last:
 
 
 
Please meet Gertie. She was purchased by Michelle for $15* from KSL classifieds before Jackson was born. Gertie is a rocking chair and she has her own ottoman. Jackson has been rocked to sleep many a night in this chair and now he loves to play on her. She has real horsehair inside of her (why this is cool, I do not know yet, but our instructor, Lenny, thinks it is cool. At least he exclaimed, "that’s real horsehair there," which made me think it must be significant).
 
* We do not know if it was $15 or a titch more, but we are sticking to $15.
 
 
 
And this is Cordelia. She was purchased at a consignment store for $50. This pic shows black arms and legs, but that is after a quick paint job. Arms and legs were originally pink.
 
 
 
Here we are working on the makeovers. Hilda, Gertie and Cordelia are literally getting ripped apart at the seams! But, as we all know, beauty=pain.
 
 
 
Please watch for continued progress on these upholstery makeovers. So far we are loving the class, even after just one session. We have learned lots already, including new vocabulary words like bleeders (the staples or nails that stick up after ripping up fabric and need to be removed) and my personal favorite, double rub (grade of fabric), because double rub is fun to say.
 
Try it. Double rub.
 
 
 

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Introducing….

  1. Karen

    Oh I LOVE makeovers! I have several of these ladies in my home! Keep us posted.

  2. Staci Lynn

    The names are perfect for each of them.

  3. Michelle

    So excited for the next class tonight! Gertie gertie.

  4. Jon and Becky

    I love all those ladies!! I wish I could accompany you, but alas…the commute.

  5. Tina

    That looks like great fun! I’m impressed! I’ll be anxious to see how this girls turn out! xox

  6. mindy rich

    I’m enjoying all the pictures. Thanks again for last week, it was great to see you! And bummer that I didn’t get to go to that Chocolate place with you!!

Leave a comment